2021 Morningstar Fund Awards Singapore

On 23 March, we will announce our annual Morningstar Fund Award winners in Singapore.

Ruth Saldanha 02.03.2021
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Morningstar Awards

On 23 March, we will announce the winners of the annual Morningstar Fund Awards – Singapore. This year, we will present two types of awards: Category Awards and Fund House Awards.

Morningstar Category Awards
The category awards are awarded to equity funds, and fixed income funds. On the equity side, the categories include Asia-Pacific Equity (Asia ex Japan Equity, Asia-Pacific ex Japan Equity, Asia-Pacific inc. Japan Equity, Asia-Pacific ex-Japan Equity Income), Global Equity (Includes all Global Large Cap style categories, Global Equity-Income, and Global Flex-Cap), Greater China Equity (China Equity and Greater China Equity) and Singapore Equity. On the fixed income side, the category is Asia Bond (Asia Bond and Asia Bond – Local Currency).

These awards are given to the funds with the best risk-adjusted performance within their Morningstar Categories or groupings of Morningstar Categories, subject to qualitative review. The objective of the quantitatively driven Morningstar International Fund Awards program is to recognise those funds and fund groups that have added the most value within the context of a relevant peer group for investors over the past year and over the longer-term. As the awards are annual, we believe it is appropriate to emphasise a fund’s one-year performance. However, we do not believe that it serves investors well to give awards to funds that have posted a strong one-year return, but have otherwise not delivered good results for investors. The awards methodology therefore emphasises the one-year period, but funds must also have delivered strong three-and five-year returns after adjusting for risk within the awards peer groups in order to obtain an award. Further, they must have been at least in the top half of their respective peer groups in at least three of the past five calendar years. You can read the full methodology here.

Morningstar Fund House Awards
There are two awards for fund houses – The Morningstar Best Equity Fund House Award, and the Morningstar Best Fixed-Income Fund House Award.

These awards are given to the fund groups with the strongest performing fund line-ups on a risk adjusted basis. Fund performance is evaluated within the Morningstar Categories. On the equity side, fund houses with at least five equity funds with Morningstar Ratings available for sale in a given market are eligible. On the fixed income side. fund houses with at least five fixed income funds with Morningstar Ratings available for sale in a given market are eligible. Money market funds are not eligible for inclusion. You can read the full methodology here.

Want to Build Your Own Portfolio?

Find The Tools Here

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

About Author

Ruth Saldanha

Ruth Saldanha  is Senior Editor at Morningstar.ca

© Copyright 2024 Morningstar Asia Ltd. All rights reserved.

Terms of Use        Privacy Policy        Disclosures